Dodson Places Fourth out of 226 Bowlers at ISC Sectionals, Advances to ISC Finals in April

Dodson Places Fourth out of 226 Bowlers at ISC Sectionals, Advances to ISC Finals in April

Addison, Illinois (March 8, 2019) – Freshman Rebecca Dodson will represent Mount St. Mary's at the Intercollegiate Singles Championship (ISC) finals in Dayton, Ohio this April after placing fourth out of 226 competitors at the sectional qualifier in Illinois.

Dodson rolled games of 192, 207, 212, 201, 212 and 247 for a 1,271 total pin-fall (211.83 average). She will be one of 24 bowlers to compete for the ISC crown in Dayton, Ohio, April 17-21. She was one of eight bowlers to earn the ISC berth out of Illinois, as it hosted the largest field of bowlers out of the four sectional locations. Individuals from their respective sectional in Tennessee, New Jersey, and Texas, will make up the rest of the field.

Freshman Haley Buser also represented the Mount well, finishing 58th out of 226 with a six game pin-fall of 1,129 (188.17 average.) Freshman Danielle Milo placed 109th with a 179.83 average. Freshmen Barbara Hawes (130th), Erin Burkart (134th), Kayla Durbala (140th), Tamera Stanton (148th), and Ashley Santos (162nd) rounded out individual finishes for the Mount.

"I am extremely proud of the way Rebecca bowled today and she is very deserving of this honor," said Head Coach Kenneth DeGraaf. "When you are talking about a field of 226 bowlers and only eight advance, the room for error is so small. The first five games she hovered around the cut line by keeping every game around 200, but the 247 in crunch time is what sealed the deal for her. I have no doubt she will make some noise in April. The next two days are all about getting the rest of the team to Dayton for the Intercollegiate Team Championships."

ITC competition will begin tomorrow with 32 baker games. An additional 32 baker games will be bowled Sunday, with the top four teams in total pin-fall after 64 total baker games advancing to the ITC finals in April. Competition is set to begin at 8:30 AM CT. All live streaming for the event will be on