Mount Track and Field Set to Compete at NEC Outdoor Track and Field Championships

Mount Track and Field Set to Compete at NEC Outdoor Track and Field Championships


The Mount St. Mary's men's and women's outdoor track and field teams are headed to the 2013 Northeast Conference Championships.  Monmouth University will host this year's championships on May 4-5.

Mount Update:  Heather Juhring finished in eighth place in the championship division of the javelin at the Penn Relays last week.  Juhring had a toss of 44.55m to advance to the finals.  Jon Fernandez was eighth in the college division javelin for the Mount as well.

Weekly Honors:  The Mount has had several athletes earn weekly honors from the Northeast Conference.  Tommy Gruschow was the NEC Track Athlete of the Week on April 9, Elissa Ingram was NEC Rookie of the Week on April 9, and Jessica Whitmore was NEC Rookie of the Week on April 2.

School Records:  Two Mountaineers have set school records this season.  Jon Fernandez broke the hammer throw record with a toss of 52.23m at the Maryland Invitational on March 30.  Heather Juhring broke her own school mark with a throw of 44.55m in the javelin at the Penn Relays on April 25.

Last Year at the NEC Championships:  Coby Rosemier-Gussio was named the Northeast Conference Rookie of the Meet to pace the Mount men's team to a fifth-place finish at last year's NEC Championships.  Heather Juhring won the javelin as the Mount women finished in sixth.  Click HERE for a complete recap.

Checking the NEC Performance Lists:  The Mount has some of the top performances in the Northeast Conference this season.  Tommy Gruschow has the top time in the 5,000m run, Genamarie McCant the top mark in the 400m dash, and Elissa Ingram has the top spot in the pole vault.  The following is a list of Mount athletes in the top eighth on the NEC performance lists heading into the NEC Championships.

NEC Performance Lists
Kody Wilson, 6th, 800m run, 1:52.65
Chris Swisko, 5th, 1,500m run, 3:52.33
Chris Swisko, 2nd, 5,000m run, 14:37.44
Tommy Gruschow, 7th, 1,500m run, 3:54.90
Tommy Gruschow, 1st, 5,000m run, 14:26.94
Sean Caskey, 5th, 3,000m steeplechase, 9:37.73
Scott Rice, 3rd, pole vault, 4.35m (14' 3.25")
Joseph Cuntrera, 5th, pole vault, 4.25m (13' 11.25")
Tim Nickas, 7th, pole vault, 4.20m (13' 9.25")
Tim Nickas, 8th, long jump, 6.67m (21' 10.75")
Jon Fernandez, 4th, hammer throw, 52.23m (171' 4")
Jon Fernandez, 4th, javelin, 63.94m (209' 9")
Joe Barbato, 7th, javelin, 56.42m (185' 1")

Jessica Whitmore, 2nd, 100m dash, 11.94
Genamarie McCant, 3rd, 200m dash, 24.58
Genamarie McCant, 1st, 400m dash, 55.76
Desi Scott, 2nd, 800m run, 2:14.89
McKenzie Doyle, 4th, 10,000m run, 38:57.47
Helena Leyrer, 3rd, 400m hurdles, 1:02.39
Megan Kinsella, 5th, 3,000m steeplechase, 11:16.74
Corie Scharpf, 7th, high jump, 1.61m (5' 3.25")
Elissa Ingram, 1st, pole vault, 3.72m (12' 2.5")
Chantel Lipkins, 2nd, long jump, 5.70m (18' 8.5")
Teika Robinson, 3rd, long jump, 5.51m (18' 1")
Heather Juhring, 4th, javelin, 44.55m (146' 2")

ECAC/IC4A Qualifiers:  The Mountaineers have had six student-athletes qualify for the ECAC/IC4A Championships.  For the women, Jessica Whitmore (100m), Genamarie McCant (200m, 400m), Elissa Ingram (pole vault) and Heather Juhring (javelin) have all qualified for the ECAC Championships.  For the men, Tommy Gruschow (5,000m) and Jon Fernandez (javelin) are IC4A qualifiers.

The Mount and the NEC Championships

The Mount men's team won the NEC title in 1991, 1996 and 1997.
The Mount women's team has won the NEC title in 1993, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998

Men's Most Outstanding Performer
Peter Rono (1991), Andrew Smith (1992), Corey Brown (Field, 2007), Chad Brown (Track, 2010)

Rookie of the Meet
Coby Rosemier-Gussio (2012)

Men's Coach of the Year
Mike Merritt (1996)

Women's Outstanding Performer
Laure Smith (1991 and 1992), Rebeccah Wassner (1997), Nina Victorin (Field, 2006),  Ashley DeCruise (Track, 2011)

Rookie of the Meet
Ashlyn DeCruise (2008)

Women's Coach of the Year
Mike Merritt (1995, 1996, 1998)