Henry Berg, Bryan McIntosh and Sam Stephan Garner NEC All-Rookie Team Honors

Henry Berg, Bryan McIntosh and Sam Stephan Garner NEC All-Rookie Team Honors


Philadelphia (May 2, 2018) – Mount St. Mary's University freshmen Henry Berg, Bryan McIntosh and Sam Stephan were each named to the Northeast Conference (NEC) All-Rookie Team on Wednesday night, as the league announced the end-of-the-year awards at the men's lacrosse banquet.

Berg was the Mount's top-scoring rookie in his freshman campaign, closing out the season with 18 points on seven goals and 11 assists, to go along with 15 ground balls. Berg was tied for second on the squad in assists and ranked fifth in points during his impressive rookie season. The middie from Berwyn, Pa. found his groove towards the end of the year, tallying multi-point efforts in each of the final five contests.    

McIntosh helped anchor the Mount's defensive unit during his freshman season, finishing the year with 40 ground balls and 20 caused turnovers while starting all 14 games. The Jamison, Pa. native ranked second on the squad in caused turnovers and third in ground balls on the year. McIntosh had five games with multiple forced turnovers, including three apiece in contests against Richmond, VMI and Wagner.

Stephan was a force all year long at the X for the Mountaineers, posting a .551 faceoff percentage and picking up a team-high 116 ground balls, which is third-most in a single-season in the Mount's Division I era. Stephan, who ranked second in the conference in ground balls per game (8.29), registered double-digit ground balls in five contests on the year. The Millstone, N.J. native posted a .500 faceoff percentage or better in 10 of 14 games, including a dominating performance against Mercer in which he won 19-of-25 faceoffs.

The Mountaineers rounded out the season at 5-9 overall and 2-4 in NEC play as they narrowly missed out on a playoff spot.

NEC Player of the Year
M - Max Tuttle, SHU

NEC Offensive Player of the Year

M - Max Tuttle, SHU

NEC Defensive Player of the Year
D - Zach Bryant, RMU

NEC Rookie of the Year

A - Marc O'Rourke, BRY

NEC Coach of the Year
Taylor Wray, SJU

All-NEC First Team
A - Chris Blewitt, SJU
A - Marc O'Rourke, BRY
A - Joe Saggese, SHU
M - Kyle Cain, SJU
M - Tyson Gibson, RMU
M - Tom Kennedy, BRY
M - Max Tuttle, SHU
D - Zach Bryant, RMU
D - Zac Christianson, RMU
D - Anthony Johnson, BRY
LSM - Austin Smith, SJU
FOS - Kenny Massa, BRY
GK - Alex Heger, RMU

All-NEC Second Team
A - Jimmy Perkins, RMU
A - Mike Rastivo, SJU
A - Matt Schmidt, RMU
M - Ryan Archer, HC
M - Hayes McGinley, SJU
M - Ryan Smith, RMU
M - Trevor Weingarten, BRY
D - Matt Caracappa, SHU
D - Zach Coffey, BRY
D - Chas South, BRY
LSM - Jack Toomb, RMU
FOS - Matt Pedicine, HC
GK - Mike Adler, SJU

NEC All-Rookie Team
GK - Mike Adler, SJU
M - Ryan Archer, HC
M - Henry Berg, MSM
A - Shane Fable, SJU
A - Corson Kealey, RMU
A - Logan Liljeberg, SHU
M - Bryan McIntosh, MSM
A - Marc O'Rourke, BRY
FOS - Sam Stephan, MSM
MF - Nick Vernacchio, SJU