Junior Robinson Named Associated Press Honorable Mention All-American

Junior Robinson Named Associated Press Honorable Mention All-American

March 27, 2018 – Mount St. Mary's University guard Junior Robinson added to his collection of honors following an outstanding 2017-18 season with an Associated Press Honorable Mention All-American selection on Tuesday.

Robinson posted one of the top seasons in Mount St. Mary's history this year. The 5-5 guard was named the Northeast Conference (NEC) Player of the Year, becoming just the second player in Mount history to earn the honor. He led the NEC and is currently 14th in the nation in scoring at 22.0 points per game, and also finished second in the conference with 4.9 assists per game. Robinson scored 20 or more points in a game on 23 occasions this year, currently the fifth-most in the nation this year.

With 703 points this season, Robinson moved into third place on the Mount St. Mary's all-time scoring list with 1,872 career points. His 703 points are the second-most in a season in Mount history, and he joined Mount legendary players Jack Sullivan, John O'Reilly, Chris McGuthrie and Fred Carter as the only players to score 600 or more points in a season. Those four are the only Mount players to have their number retired.

Robinson is the second player at the Mount to earn NEC Player of the Year honors, joining McGuthrie who won the award in 1995-96. Robinson was also named First Team All-NEC, becoming the sixth player in Mount history to earn the honor, joining Elijah Long (2016-17), Jeremy Goode (2008-09; 2009-10), Gregory Harris (1998-99), Riley Inge (1995-96) and McGuthrie (1994-95; 1995-96). He was named NEC Player of the Week on five occasions this year, tying the conference record for most NEC Player of the Week awards in one season.


First Team
Jalen Brunson, Villanova
Deandre Ayton, Arizona
Trae Young, Oklahoma
Marvin Bagley III, Duke
Devonte' Graham, Kansas

Second Team
Keita Bates-Diop, Ohio State
Trevon Bluiett, Xavier
Jock Landale, Saint Mary's
Miles Bridges, Michigan State
Jevon Carter, West Virginia

Third Team
Keenan Evans, Texas Tech
Carsen Edwards, Purdue
Mikal Bridges, Villanova
Luke Maye, North Carolina
Kyle Guy, Virginia

Honorable Mention
Jaylen Adams, St. Bonaventure; Peyton Aldridge, Davidson; Grayson Allen, Duke; Mo Bamba, Texas; Trae Bell-Haynes, Vermont; Joel Berry II, North Carolina; Bogdan Bliznyuk, Eastern Washington; Desonta Bradford, ETSU; Tony Carr, Penn State; Gary Clark, Cincinnati; Xavier Cooks, Winthrop; Jermaine Crumpton, Canisius; Clayton Custer, Loyola of Chicago; Mike Daum, South Dakota State; Angel Delgado, Seton Hall; Kahlil Dukes, Niagara; Tre'Shaun Fletcher, Toledo; Marcus Foster, Creighton; Brandon Goodwin, Florida Gulf Coast; Isaac Haas, Purdue; Aaron Holiday, UCLA; Jordan Howard, Central Arkansas; Jemerrio Jones, New Mexico State; Nick King, Middle Tennessee; Kevin Knox, Kentucky; Fletcher Magee, Wofford; Caleb Martin, Nevada; Kelan Martin, Butler; Yante Maten, Georgia; Martaveous McKnight, Arkansas-Pine Bluff; Kendrick Nunn, Oakland; Shamorie Ponds, St. John's; Jerome Robinson, Boston College; Junior Robinson, Mount St. Mary's; Colin Sexton, Alabama; Landry Shamet, Wichita State; T.J. Shorts II, UC Davis; D'Marcus Simonds, Georgia State; Jonathan Stark, Murray State; Brandon Tabb, Bethune-Cookman; Zach Thomas, Bucknell; Seth Towns, Harvard; Allonzo Trier, Arizona; Grant Williams, Tennessee; Johnathan Williams, Gonzaga; Justin Wright-Foreman, Hofstra.