Track & Field's Gibilisco And Women's Lacrosse's Jost Named NEC Scholar-Athletes

Track & Field's Gibilisco And Women's Lacrosse's Jost Named NEC Scholar-Athletes

EMMITSBURG, Md. – Senior Gigi Gibilisco (Newtown, Pa./Notre Dame [N.J.]), a member of the Mount St. Mary's men's track and field team, and senior Aly Jost (Abington, Md./Bel Air), a member of the Mount St. Mary's women's lacrosse team, have been named Northeast Conference (NEC) Scholar-Athletes Of The Year for their respective sports, announced by the league on Thursday. It marks the third NEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the Mount after senior Eric Detzel (York, Pa./Central York) garnered the Men's Soccer Scholar-Athlete Of The Year honors in the fall.

Gibilisco outclassed the field in the 800 meters at the NEC Outdoor Track & Field Championships, winning the event in a time of 1:51.86 to be named this year's recipient of the Outdoor Track and Field Scholar-Athlete award. He then qualified for the NCAA East Preliminary Round by posting a time of 1:50.29 at the IC4A Championships, earning All-East honors in the process. The Newton, Pa., native finished 29th at the NCAA meet, crossing the tape in 1:51.75. Gibilisco, who had previously earned a pair of top-three finishes in NEC Championship meet competition, was a Music major at the Mount. He maintained a 3.75 grade point average.

Gibilisco becomes the third men's track & field athlete to receive the Scholar-Athlete of the Year award and marks the fourth time since the 1988-89 season that a Mount track athlete has garnered the conference honor. Jim Stevenson, the current track & field head coach at Mount St. Mary's, was the first track star to receive the recognition in 1993-94 while Aaron Price was a two-time winner in 1996-97 and 1997-98 before Gibilisco grabbed the honor this year.

Jost capped off a terrific year with her selection as women's lacrosse Scholar-Athlete. Jost became the first player in league history to claim two NEC Defensive Player of the Year awards and just the second in conference annals to collect All-NEC first team accolades in each of her four seasons. This past spring she led the Mount with 46 ground balls and 17 caused turnovers, while ranking second with 49 draw controls. Jost's strong play helped land Mount St. Mary's a berth in the NEC title game for the first time since the 2007 season and earned her a spot on the NEC All-Tournament time for the second time in her career. Jost ranks sixth in program history in caused turnovers (83), seventh in ground balls (171) and 10th in draw controls (83). She was recently chosen to the Capital One At-Large Academic All-District first team. Jost, an Abington, MD product, is a four-time member of the NEC Academic Honor Roll and Commissioner's Honor Roll. Majoring in Criminal Justice and Sociology, she posted a stellar 3.94 grade point average.

It marks the second-straight campaign a Mountaineer women's lacrosse player was named the NEC Women's Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year after Jackie Kearney took home the nod last season. Jost becomes the fourth women's lacrosse player to receive the top academic accolade for her sport by the NEC and also marks the fifth time in program history a Mount player picked up the honor. Along with Jost and Kearney, Jen Stocker earned the honor in 1998-99 and Naomi Campano-Radio nabbed the honor for the 2003-04 and 2004-05 campaigns.

It marks the third time in program history three players were named a scholar-athlete in their sport by the NEC and the first since the 2005-06 season. The Mount also had three recipients in 1990-91 and 1998-99. Mount St. Mary's had a program-record six NEC Scholar-Athletes in 1996-97 while the school posted five in 1993-94, 1994-95 and 1997-98.

In addition, 63 student-athletes were named to the NEC Academic Honor Roll. To be eligible for the Academic Honor Roll, students must garner at least a 3.20 grade-point average. Mount St. Mary's also had 17 student-athletes post a grade-point average of 3.75 or better to be named to the NEC Commissioner's Honor Roll.

NEC Academic Honor Roll (* denotes NEC Commissioner Honor Roll)
Baseball (12): Alex Andrews, Max Brittenham, Peter DeCandia, Tommy Flynn, Michael Foster*, Tom Healy, Zach Helman, Dan Horner, Kyle Kane, Karl Lamont, Brett Moore, Mark Quaranta*
Men's Golf (1): Tony Aizpun
Women's Golf (3): Megan Corbett, Sarah Roe*, Autumn Serruta
Men's Lacrosse (10): Allen Frere, Anthony Golden, Brendan Harrison, Alex Janeck, Phillip Lipka, Andrew Scalley*, Brett Shukri, Dan Stranix, Nate Van Wyk, Jake Willertz*
Women's Lacrosse (5): Meaghan Conlon*, Aly Jost*, Kaitlyn Larrimore, Lily O'Beirne, Alexis Salerno
Softball (4): Kristen Collins, Beth Everist, Breanne Lohman, Amanda Sadowl
Men's Tennis (4): Matthew Blake, Jastin Mostowtt, Mike Salomon*, Mike Zabetakis
Women's Tennis (4): Emily Bolchoz, Kelly Conroy*, Emma Haley, Evalyn Myerly
Women's Track & Field (14): Katherine Crumbaugh*, Ashley DeCruise, Ashlyn DeCruise, Hanna DuBois*, Megan Earley, Kathryn Franke, Kelsey Greene, Heather Gula*, Megan Kinsella*, Maggie Pierce, Christina Praydis, Brandie Trostle, Nicole Vanagas*, Allison Vanek
Men's Track & Field (6): Gigi Gibilisco*, Jamie Gibilisco, Jason Kymingham, Tim Nickas*, Patrick Perez, Joe Perry*