2014 Mount St. Mary's Men's Lacrosse Schedule Announced

2014 Mount St. Mary's Men's Lacrosse Schedule Announced

2014 Mount St. Mary's Men's Lacrosse Schedule

Emmitsburg, Md. (October 16, 2013)—Seven home games and a difficult non-conference slate highlight the 2014 Mount St. Mary's men's lacrosse schedule, announced today.

The Mountaineers open the season with road games at Maryland (Feb. 8), Georgetown (Feb. 12) and Delaware (Feb. 22).  The Mount has played Maryland in each of the past two seasons with the Terrapins holding a 9-0 lead in the all-time series.  Mount St. Mary's posted a 14-6 win over Georgetown at home last year, and holds a 16-14 lead in the all-time series.  The Mountaineers have defeated Delaware in each of the past two seasons, but the Blue Hens hold a 10-2 lead in the all-time series.

The home opener for the Mount will be a tough one as Virginia visits Waldron Family Stadium on February 25.  The two teams have played in each of the past nine seasons, while the Cavaliers hold an 11-0 lead in the all-time series, including NCAA Tournament wins over the Mount in 2003 and 2010.

Mount St. Mary's heads to Towson on March 1st for the fifth all-time meeting between the two teams.  Towson is 4-0 all-time against the Mount, including a 13-5 victory last year.  This is the fourth consecutive season the two teams will be playing.

Johns Hopkins makes its third all-time appearance at Waldon Family Stadium on March 4th.  The Mount is 0-5 all-time against the Blue Jays, including a 19-9 loss last season.

The Mountaineers will play at Manhattan on March 8 before coming home for a season-high four-game homestand.  The Mount is 14-7 all-time against Manhattan, having won the past three matchups.  Last year, the Mountaineers defeated the Jaspers, 16-7, in Emmitsburg.

The four-game home stand includes Drexel (March 15), UMBC (March 22), Robert Morris (March 25) and Hobart (March 29).  The Mount and Drexel will be playing for the fourth consecutive season, with the Dragons holding a 5-0 lead in the series.  Last season, Drexel defeated the Mount, 14-11.  Mount St. Mary's is 0-15 all-time against UMBC, including a 10-8 loss last year on the road.  This is just the second meeting between the two teams since 2003.

The game against Robert Morris marks the start of Northeast Conference play.  The Mount, which won the inaugural NEC title in 2011 while advancing to the championship game in 2012, is 4-2 all-time against Robert Morris.  Last year, the Colonials edged the Mount, 12-11.

Hobart joined the NEC in July, and this will be the first-ever meeting between the two schools.  Mount St. Mary's head coach Tom Gravante is a 1988 graduate of Hobart.  A standout attackman for the Statesmen, he tallied 141 goals and 69 assists for 210 career points while helping lead the team to NCAA Division III National Championships in each of his four seasons.  Gravante had 66 goal and 22 assists for Hobart as a senior and was a two-time first-team All-American.

The Mount will finish the season with four of its final five games on the road, including a three-game road swing at Saint Joseph's (April 1), Bucknell (Apri 5) and Bryant (April 12).  Saint Joseph's, also a new member of the NEC), is a former conference rival from the Mount's days in the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference.  The Mount is 13-4 all-time against the Hawks, including a 17-7 victory in 2010 in the last meeting between the two teams.  The Mount defeated Bucknell, 12-11, last year, to notch is first win in 14 all-time meetings with the Bison.  Mount St. Mary's downed Bryant, the two-time defending NEC Champion, 10-9 at home last season, but Bryant holds a 4-2 lead in the all-time series, including a victory in the 2012 NEC Championship game.

The Mountaineers host Wagner on April 19 in the final home game of the regular season before heading to Sacred Heart on April 26 to round out the schedule.  The Mount is 13-0 all-time against Wagner and is 6-1 all-time against Sacred Heart. 

The top four teams in the Northeast Conference qualify for the NEC Tournament, which will be held May 2 and 4 with the regular season champion hosting.