Jim Phelan Named to 2017 List of Candidates for the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Jim Phelan Named to 2017 List of Candidates for the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame


Emmitsburg, Md. (December 22, 2016)--Legendary Mount St. Mary's University men's basketball coach Jim Phelan has been named to the list of eligible candidates for the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2017, announced yesterday.

A press conference announcing the Finalists from the North American and Women's committee for the Class of 2017 will be held at NBA All-Star Weekend, which is scheduled for Saturday, February 18th in New Orleans, Louisiana. The entire Class of 2017, including those selected by the direct elect committees, will be unveiled on Monday, April 3rd at the Men's NCAA Final Four in Phoenix, Arizona.

Phelan became one of the basketball's all-time winners with a record of 830 wins and 524 losses over the course of 49 basketball seasons. The man with the bow tie coached in a total of 1,354 games, all as head coach at Mount St. Mary's University.

Phelan's 49 seasons as the head coach at the Mount are the NCAA Division I record for both most seasons coached at one school and most seasons coached overall. His 1,354 career games coached are second all-time to Mike Krzyzewski.

The Philadelphia native and former basketball star at LaSalle ranks seventh all-time in career wins (10 seasons at NCAA Division 1) behind Mike Krzyzewski, Bob Knight, Jim Boeheim, Dean Smith, Adolph Rupp and Jim Calhoun. The two-time national coach of the year led his team to the NCAA College Division championship in 1962 and guided the Mount to 19 seasons with at least 20 wins. After moving to Division I, his teams earned NCAA Tournament berths in 1995 and 1999 as well as a National Invitation Tournament berth in 1996.

Phelan was selected to the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame in 2008, the Northeast Conference Hall of Fame in 2010, and the Mount St. Mary's University Hall of Fame in 1988.

North American Committee Nominations

  • Mark Aguirre (PLA)
  • Geese Ausbie (PLA)
  • Bill Bertka (COA)
  • Muggsy Bogues (PLA)
  • Junior Bridgeman (PLA)
  • Irv Brown (REF)
  • Maurice Cheeks (PLA)
  • Terry Cummings (PLA)
  • Charles "Lefty" Driesell (COA)
  • Hugh Evans (REF)
  • Bill Fitch (COA)
  • Cotton Fitzsimmons (COA)
  • Tim Hardaway (PLA)
  • Del Harris (COA)
  • Robert Hughes (COA)
  • Kevin Johnson (PLA)
  • Marques Johnson (PLA)
  • Bobby Jones (PLA)
  • Jerry "Tiger" Jones (COA)
  • Gene Keady (COA)
  • Rollie Massimino (COA)
  • Tracy McGrady (PLA)
  • Gary McKnight (COA)
  • Danny Miles (COA)
  • Sidney Moncrief (PLA)
  • Dick Motta (COA)
  • Swen Nater (PLA)
  • Jake O'Donnell (REF)
  • Jim Phelan (COA)
  • Mark Price (PLA)
  • Jere Quinn (COA)
  • Glenn Robinson (COA)
  • Lee Rose (COA)
  • Bo Ryan (COA)
  • Bob Saulsbury (COA)
  • Bill Self (COA)
  • Jack Sikma (PLA)
  • Steve Smith (COA)
  • Fred Snowden (COA)
  • Harry Statham (COA)
  • Eddie Sutton (COA)
  • Rudy Tomjanovich (COA)
  • Ben Wallace (PLA)
  • Chris Webber (PLA)
  • Paul Westphal (PLA)