Mount St. Mary’s Inducts Five Into Athletics Hall of Fame

Mount St. Mary’s Inducts Five Into Athletics Hall of Fame

Emmitsburg, Md. (January 30, 2017) – The Mount St. Mary's University athletic department celebrated the careers of Amy DeBor (C'98), Erin LaMotte (C'05), Steve Long (C'86), Terence McNulty (C'87) and Josh Warfield (C'03) with their induction into the Athletics Hall of Fame on Saturday, January 28, as part of a ceremony at the Dillon Fieldhouse in the ARCC.

Amy DeBor | Class of 1998 | Cross Country and Track
DeBor was an integral part of an era of dominance for the Mount St. Mary's cross country and track & field teams as she helped lead the Mountaineers to three NEC cross country team titles from 1994-96, three indoor track championships from 1995-97 and four outdoor track championships spanning 1995-98. DeBor was named an All-Northeast Conference performer in cross country on three occasions, and earned the honor an outstanding 15 times in track, including seven All-NEC First Team honors and eight Second Team selections. DeBor still holds top-10 times in Mount St. Mary's program history in four indoor events (1000m, mile, 3000m, 5000m) and four outdoor events (1500m, 3000m, 5000m, 10,000m) to this day.  


Erin LaMotte | Class of 2005 | Women's Lacrosse
LaMotte rounded out her Mount St. Mary's career in 2005 as one of just eight players in program history to reach the 100-goal plateau, finishing her tenure eighth all-time in career goals at the Mount. LaMotte led Mount St. Mary's to its only two NEC Championships and NCAA Tournament appearances in school history during her junior and senior seasons as the team racked up 29 wins and a 14-1 conference record in the two years combined. The midfielder collected First Team All-Northeast Conference honors in each of her final two seasons, and finished her career ranked among the top-10 in program history in goals, points, ground balls and caused turnovers. Following her senior campaign, LaMotte was selected to the North-South Game, becoming just the eighth Mountaineer to participate in the prestigious contest.


Steve Long | Class of 1986 | Track and Field
Long, a two-time NCAA Division II qualifier in both the pole vault and 4x400 relay, graduated in 1986 as one of the Mount's most prolific track and field athletes. Long played a part in several program records throughout his four-year tenure, including a trio that still stand today in the shuttle hurdles relay and the seven and eight-man decathlons. Long set and broke the school's pole vault record on numerous occasions, including his indoor record set at the IC4As in 1985 that stood for nearly 19 years. Long opened his career as a three-time Mason-Dixon Conference pole vault champion, and culminated his tenure with a 10th-place finish in the pole vault at the NCAA Championships his senior season. 


Terence McNulty | Class of 1987 | Men's Lacrosse
McNulty, one of the top defenders in Mount St. Mary's men's lacrosse program history, helped lead the Mount to a 35-9 record (.795 winning pct.) during his career, which marks the best team winning percentage in a four-year stretch in school history. A leader both on and off the field, McNulty was a team captain for his senior season and rounded out the 1987 campaign by earning an All-American nomination and being named the team's MVP.


Josh Warfield | Class of 2003 | Men's Lacrosse
Warfield, a key member of the first-ever Mount St. Mary's men's lacrosse team to reach the NCAA Tournament, finished his career tied for seventh in program history in career goals (114) and 15th in points (149). Warfield was a force during the program's time in the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, garnering First Team All-MAAC honors in 2002 and 2003, and earning MAAC Offensive Player of the Year during his senior season as the Mount won a conference championship and reached the first round of the NCAA Tournament. Warfield scored 48 goals as a sophomore in 2001, which placed him in a tie for second-most tallies in a single-season in program history. He was named MVP of the MAAC Tournament later that season and began a run of three straight MAAC All-Tournament Team selections.